The student news site of Aberdeen High School

Blue and Gold

Filed under News, Sports

NHL Stanley Cup Playoffs Begin

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

As the regular season ends, a new season begins. The road to the Lord Stanley Cup starts Wednesday, April 16, with the first round of the playoffs.

Eight teams from the Eastern Conference (Boston Bruins, Pittsburgh Penguins, Tampa Bay Lightning, Montreal Canadians, New York Rangers, Philadelphia Flyers, Columbus Blue Jackets, and Detroit Red Wings) along with eight teams from the Western Conference  (Anaheim Ducks, Colorado Avalanche, St. Louis Blues, San Jose Sharks, Chicago Blackhawks, Los Angeles Kings, Minnesota Wild, and Dallas Stars) get the chance to win the Cup this year.

The year prior, the Chicago Blackhawks swept the Boston Bruins in a four game series for their second title in three years.

The first round will be the “Best of Seven” series: Columbus at Pittsburgh, Philadelphia at New York, Detroit at Boston, Montreal at Tampa Bay for the East. For the West, it’s Dallas at Anaheim, Minnesota at Colorado, Chicago at St. Louis, and Los Angeles at San Jose.

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.

The student news site of Aberdeen High School
NHL Stanley Cup Playoffs Begin